Panchakarma – an ancient therapeutic method – is Ayurveda’s answer to all chronic diseases. Panchakarma is a powerful therapy that offers the body a unique opportunity for recovery and rejuvenation. Diseases can be cured and the risks of relapse are reduced.

Panchakarma literally means «five actions» – pañca = «five» and karma = «action». This refers to the five methods or therapies of elimination in Ayurveda.


The five eliminating procedures are:

virecana the purging
vastioder basti the enema
nasya the nose treatment
vamana the medical vomiting
rakta mokṣana the therapeutic bloodletting

Panchakarma helps in five different ways to rid the body of Ama (metabolic toxins) that have accumulated in the body tissues due to unhealthy diet and improper lifestyle.

The five remedies, in combination with further treatments, help to maintain or restore the balance of the three doshas Vata, Pitta and Kapha, so that our body and mind remain healthy.


The three phases of a Panchakarma treatment

Panchakarma is performed in three successive phases:

pūrvakarma measures and treatments in preparation for the actual Panchakarma therapies
pradhānakarma the five main treatments, the actual Panchakarma
paścātkarma Follow-up treatments to enhance or maintain the effect of the main therapies

A patient who chooses one of the five main treatments depending on his individual condition must always go through all three phases.

Large Image