Purvakarma – Pretreatment

The pre-treatment consists of oil therapies, massages and fomentation treatments.

Snehana (oleation or oil treatments) and svedana (sweating treatments) are two of the Purvakarma procedures and the most important preparatory measures of Panchakarma.

Snehana, the inner and outer oleation, is supposed to dissolve the toxins (Ama) that are stuck in various body tissues. During Snehana, so-called sneha– or snigdha dravyas (oily substances) are administered internally or externally in the form of taila (oils), ghṛta (ghee), vasā (muscle fat) or majjā (bone marrow).

The snehas are individually prepared with herbs to help the respective condition of the patient. If Sneha is administered in pure form without the addition of herbs, it is called accha sneha and is considered the most effective oleation therapy.

Internal Snehana is applied early in the morning for a maximum of seven days. It helps the increased doshas and accumulated Ama to separate from the tissues and pass from the tiny body channels (srota) into the digestive tract and then to be eliminated from the body (vilayana (liquefy) and utkleśana (stimulating) the doshas).

Outer snehana is the application of oils to the body. Usually this is done by massages that last about 45-70 minutes.

 

Svedana is a heat treatment that is applied to the whole body or to a part of the body, depending on the imbalance. The whole body (or the corresponding part of the body) is exposed to a medicinal herbal steam produced over an open fire (sāgni sveda). Svedana can also be performed without a direct source of heat (i.e. without fire = anagni sveda), e.g. by sitting in the sun, covering the body with thick blankets, fasting (not drinking, not eating) or by staying in a closed dark room.

Svedana expands the fine channels in the body so that the dissolved Ama (toxins) can move towards the digestive tract (koṣṭha). At the same time, sweating helps to liquefy the doshas. Svedana is performed after Abhyanga (oil massage). After several days of oiling and sweating, the patient is prepared for the following treatments – the actual Panchakarma or main cure.

Purvakarma – Vorbehandlung

Die Vorbehandlung besteht aus Öltherapien, Massagen und Wärmebehandlungen.

Snehana (Oleations- oder Ölbehandlungen) und svedana (Schwitzbehandlungen) sind zwei der Purvakarma-Verfahren und die wichtigsten vorbereitenden Massnahmen des Panchakarma.

Snehana, die innere und äussere Ölung, soll die in verschiedenen Körpergeweben festsitzenden Schlackenstoffe (Āma) lösen. Während des Snehana werden sogenannte sneha– oder snigdha dravyas (ölige Substanzen) in Form von taila (Öle), ghṛta (Ghee), vasā (Muskelfett) oder majjā (Knochenmark) innerlich oder äusserlich verabreicht.

Die Snehas werden mit Kräutern individuell hergestellt, um dem jeweiligen Zustand des Patienten zu helfen. Wenn Sneha in reiner Form ohne Zugabe von Kräutern verabreicht wird, wird es accha sneha genannt und gilt als wirksamste Oleationstherapie.

Innerliches Snehana wird am frühen Morgen für maximal sieben Tage angewendet. Es hilft, dass sich die vermehrten Doshas und das angesammelte Ama von den Geweben trennen und von den winzigen Körperkanälen (srota) in den Verdauungstrakt gelangen, um anschliessend aus dem Körper ausgeleitet zu werden (vilayana (verflüssigen) und utkleśana (reizen) der Doshas).

Äusseres Snehana ist das Auftragen von Ölen auf den Körper. Meist geschieht dies durch Massagen, die etwa 45-70 Minuten dauern.

 

Svedana ist eine Wärmebehandlung, die je nach Ungleichgewicht am ganzen Körper oder an einem Teil des Körpers durchgeführt wird. Der ganze Körper (oder der entsprechende Körperteil) wird dabei einem Heilkräuterdampf ausgesetzt, der über offenem Feuer erzeugt wird (sāgni sveda). Svedana kann jedoch auch ohne direkte Wärmequelle (also ohne Feuer = anagni sveda) durchgeführt werden, z.B. indem man in der Sonne sitzt, den Körper mit dicken Decken bedeckt, fastet (nicht trinken, nicht essen) oder sich in einem geschlossenen dunklen Raum aufhält.

Svedana erweitert die feinen Kanäle im Körper, damit sich das gelöste Ama (Schlackenstoffe) in Richtung Verdauungstrakt (koṣṭha) bewegen kann. Gleichzeitig hilft das Schwitzen, die Doshas zu verflüssigen. Svedana wird nach dem Abhyanga (Ölmassage) durchgeführt. Nach mehreren Tagen des Einölens und des Schwitzens ist der Patient für die sich anschliessenden Behandlungen – das eigentliche Panchakarma oder die Hauptkur – vorbereitet.